ZERO TO HERO: 30 Days To A Better Blog.

It’s a new year and so I needed an extra little kick to get things moving for 2014. As a result of my despicable lack of ideas for posts as well as my addiction to the excellent posts on The Daily Post, I came across the Zero to Hero challenge. Thirty days of writing and blog challenges to enhance my existing blog. It sounded so good that I signed up then and there. Here’s the first challenge.

DAY 1: INTRODUCE YOURSELF

Who am I?

I’ve already given a vague introduction in my “About” pages on my blog (Who am I you ask? and Just a little more) but here’s an little something extra. I’m a 20-something-year-old single lady living in Brisbane, Australia and I’m currently half way through a Secondary Education degree with a major in English and a minor in Film & Media Studies (just in case you haven’t already figured that out). I work for a university (no, not the one I study at) as an administration officer and while I like to complain profusely about my job, I know that I probably won’t leave until I graduate from my degree at the end of 2015. The pay is just too obscenely good to give it up just yet.

Like any normal person of the female persuasion, I struggle with maintaining a “healthy” lifestyle due to my addiction to chocolate and pastries in combination with my love for sitting around watching movies and TV shows that are so bad that they’re good. I try to combat my bad habits with good ones (attempting to eat better occasionally, going to bootcamp 2-3 times a week, paying netball etc) but I tend to go through stages and there’s no point in trying to go against the tide.

Without sounding too clichéd, I have an undying love and passion for travel and exploring the unknown. If I’m not about to go on an overseas adventure, I’m usually in the stages of planning one. I love living in Brisbane but there are times when it gets a bit much. Brisbane (or Brisvegas as we locals have nicknamed it. Not sure why) is what I like to describe as a small, big city (despite it having the largest metropolitan area in the Southern Hemisphere) because everyone knows everyone. The six degrees of separation rule is in full effect here and it can feel a little claustrophobic at times. Brisvegians know what I’m taking about.

Why am I here?

Originally I started my blog as a university assignment in 2012 but once the assignment was complete I ignored my account until November 2013. Whilst trying to find ways to while away the dreary and dreadful hours at work, I stumbled upon my old, severely neglected account and figured that writing a blog was as good a way as any to help fill in my time. I started off writing small entries but then found that I had so many things I wanted to say and share with fellow bloggers. Sure I tell my tales of adventure and romance to my friends but blogging is a far more effective way for a greater global community to access my experiences and in turn, for me to access those experiences written about by other bloggers in the never-ending blogosphere.

If I’m going to be truly honest about why I’m here, it’s to see if my writing is as good as I like to think it is. I very rarely get to have my ego stroked so when I get a positive comment or a “Like” on one of my posts, I feel a great sense of validation as well as elation. There’s nothing quite like having a total stranger understand your perspective and like where you’re coming from. Keep the positivity rolling I say.

What do I want to write about?

I write about a lot of different things and I’d really like to keep it that way. I don’t want to be restricted to any one theme or topic so I’m going to avoid doing that if I can. I’ve read a bunch of different blogs that have been designed around a specific topic (photography, food etc) but I’ve found that the ones I enjoy reading the most are those bloggers who write about the everyday. They impart their personal experiences about relationships, work, travel and just life in general with witty little quips that have kept me entertained for hours (props to you Aussa Lorens with your HACKER. NINJA. HOOKER. SPY. tales). In terms of my own writing and posts, I hope that people find them as entertaining to read as I do when I write them. I suppose that as 2014 flies past us, a greater theme will emerge within my writing and topics. Being an English and Film Studies student, I think that it’s best to assume that there’s going to be a great many posts about films I’ve seen and popular culture as well as any other random thought that worms its way out of the depths of my brain.

What do I want to accomplish by writing a blog?

By writing a blog, I hope to impart some kind of wisdom or at least entertain the illusion of being a little bit wise in my 20’s. I want to be able to look back at what I’ve written and think “I make a good point” or “That was a surprisingly good topic of thought”. I want to be able to inspire others to further their writing and express their ideas in a safe environment where you’re free to say whatever you feel like at that particular moment. By the end of 2014, I hope to be able to look back and say “I pushed myself with this one thing and it paid off”. My blog is only in its infancy so there’s ample space and time for me to be able to expand my thoughts and ideas while also participating in the global community that blogging has manifested. Simply put, I just want to have a voice. In the word’s of Girls (2012) creator Lena Dunham “I don’t want to freak you out, but I think I may be the voice of my generation. Or at least a voice, of a generation.”

2 thoughts on “ZERO TO HERO: 30 Days To A Better Blog.”

  1. Hey! Thanks for the shoutout! I’m glad you’re going to just aim to blog about a little bit of everything. It’s always nice to know that you can tell a glorious past story one day and then rant about an inconvenience the next.
    I hadn’t heard of this “Zero to Hero” thing– I feel like I’m always missing out on what’s happening on wordpess! Maybe I should read their blog or something 😉

Leave a Reply

