But it tastes so good.

I don’t know what it is about me and junk food but lately, it feels like I can’t get enough of it. Chips, chocolate and unhealthy take-out food are slowly clogging up my arteries and filling my belly to provide me with momentary tastebud satisfaction. I don’t know what it is, but I just love it. Now this doesn’t go to say that I don’t eat properly and that I’m obese. I eat salads and protein for dinner and exercise regularly like any other health minded person but it’s those in-between snacks that get me every time. I have no self-control and so when there’s a chocolate bar in front of me, I’m definitely going to eat it. There are no two-ways about it. It all just tastes so goddamn good!

I seem to go through good and bad eating phases every couple of months and fairly recently I went through a 3-month phase where I was strong willed and able to successfully avoid eating badly. I didn’t feel the need to eat that bowl of chips or that ice-cream and so I didn’t, but then one day, I ate a Twix. How was I suppose to know that it would be my food downfall? The chocolatey, caramelly and biscutey goodness released my inhibitions and I fell off the wagon and haven’t been able to stop. What’s wrong with me? Is it that I just love to eat food that’s really bad for me or is my self-control so non-existent that I just can’t help myself? If I’m completely honest with myself, I know that I’m just making excuses. There’s absolutely no reason why I shouldn’t be able to get out of my junk food funk and start eating better but, I repeat, IT JUST TASTES SO GODDAMN GOOD!

I have no doubt that for some of you reading this post, you’re going to want to (maybe) give me some advice on healthy and delicious alternatives to junk food. There are delectable protein balls, gorgeous summer fruits and crunchy nuts and so, in advance, thanks. I know that there are multitudes of alternatives out there that are just as equally satisfying as stuffing my face in a tub of ice-cream but right now, I want what I want and there’s little you’ll be able to say to deter me. Hopefully I’ll be able to wean myself off of junk food before I’m 100kg overweight and depressed.

8 thoughts on “But it tastes so good.”

  1. Before I say anything, I’d like to let you know that I am sitting at home drinking a cocktail and eating Lindt chocolate 🙂

    I do the same thing– really health minded for a while and then a spiral into unhealthy yumness (though I think it’s mostly about laziness for me). One of my Sister-In-Laws is a very successful dietician who works with people who have eating disorders– if she were here she would tell you to not consider ANY food bad food. Twixes aren’t bad and carrots aren’t good. Divorcing food from morality is a mental barrier that, once broken, will give a lot of freedom from guilt and indulgence. She rolls her eyes when people talk about substituting a square of dark chocolate and a handful of almonds for a Snickers craving– she says “just eat the damn snickers, enjoy it, and then move on!”

    So, for what that’s worth 🙂 Pardon me while I go back to shamelessly taking calories into my body.

  2. I have a confession… I buy and eat condensed milk by the can. There. Phew! I said it. We all have moments but as long as you’re happy and otherwise healthy, who cares! Half the goodness in food is enjoying what you eat. Or at least I’ll stick with that idea 🙂

  3. You’re right, it really does all taste SO DAMN GOOD!! And I’m also currently in a phase of eating all the junk food I can get my hands on. All the Christmas treats that are currently in the shops aren’t helping either…

Leave a Reply

